Postsecondary education in Yukon

The Advanced Education Branch of the Department of Education is responsible for postsecondary education in Yukon through its student financial assistance program, student employment programs, apprenticeship program, registration of private training agencies, and support to Yukon University.

Yukon University is a multi-campus institution located entirely in Yukon. In addition to the college's Ayamdigut campus in Whitehorse, the territorial capital, there are twelve community campuses throughout the territory. Campus services include career and job training programs, part-time continuing education courses, academic and vocational courses, and career information and counselling.

In addition to providing territorial residents with career-oriented training programs, Yukon University is committed to Native and Northern studies and to promoting the territory's Aboriginal cultures.

Yukon University traces its history to the establishment of the Yukon Vocational and Technical Training Centre in 1963. The centre then became Yukon College in 1983. Finally, in 2020, Yukon College became Yukon University. 

The educational institution moved to the Ayamdigut campus in 1988. The campus includes student residences, a cafeteria, a bookstore, a library, a resource centre, daycare facilities, a gymnasium, and other student services. Also located on the campus are the territorial archives, the Yukon Arts Centre, the Yukon Research Centre of Excellence, the Centre for Northern Innovation in Mining, Northern Institute of Social Justice, and the Yukon Native Language Centre, which offers certificate and diploma programs that focus on teaching, documenting, and promoting the various Native languages spoken in the territory.

Most community campuses offer classroom facilities, computers, televisions, video equipment, and small resource libraries. Some have access to distance education technologies.

Apprenticeship programs

Apprentice training was established in Yukon with the implementation of the Apprentice Training Act in 1964. Yukon apprentices gain their on-the-job training with Yukon employers and obtain in-school training through Yukon University or other institutions arranged by the Advanced Education Branch.

Yukon College

Yukon College programs are organized into eight Schools, including: the School of Management, Tourism and Hospitality, School of Trades, Technology and Mining, School of Liberal Arts, School of Academic and Skill Development, School of Science, School of Community Education and Development, School of Continuing Education and Training, and the School of Health, Education and Human Services.

Through these schools, Yukon College offers one-year certificate programs, two-year diploma programs, and degree programming. The College is also part of the BC Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT) and thus Yukon College credits are fully transferable to BC postsecondary institutions. Credits are also transferable to Alberta institutions through a new agreement with BCCAT and to many institutions outside of BC and Alberta through individual arrangement. Some block transfer agreements are in place as well for institutions within Canada and the United States.

Many of the programs at Yukon College provide an integrated Northern perspective, such as the Renewable Resources Management Program, the Bachelor of Education – Yukon Native Teacher Education Program offered through the University of Regina but located at Yukon College, Northern Outdoor and Environmental Studies, Northern First Nations Studies, Northern Justice and Criminology and the Environmental and Conservation Sciences Program offered through the University of Alberta.

Yukon College is partnered with the KIAC and the Tr'ondek Hwech'in First Nation to provide a Foundation year at Yukon School of Visual Arts that is fully transferable to several major art schools across Canada.

The Yukon Native Language Centre, administered by the Council for Yukon First Nations, offers a two-year certificate program for Native language instructors. The centre has been in operation since 1977 and is housed at the college. Students seeking information about the certificate program should contact the centre.

While the College is now permitted to grant degrees, it is currently providing degree programming in partnership with other universities. Degrees include: Bachelor of Education and Bachelor of Social Work through the University of Regina, Master of Public Administration and Master of Business Administration through the University of Alaska Southeast, and Bachelor of Science through the University of Alberta.


As of May, 2016, there are 48 trades/occupations in which apprenticeship and certification are available in Yukon. Upon completion of all requirements of their apprentice program, apprentices obtain a Certificate of Qualification issued by the Department of Education. Recognition of their completion credentials extends outside Yukon if the trade has the same scope of practice. Apprentices who successfully pass an interprovincial exam also have a Red Seal endorsement affixed to their certification which confirms they have met a national standard.

Secondary school includes grades 8 through 12 and is modeled on the British Columbia education system.

High school graduation is normally required for most university-level programs at the college. Required courses normally include English, algebra, social studies, and at least one laboratory science, with an overall average of C in the high school program. Special consideration is given to mature applicants who are at least 19 years old and who have completed the equivalent of high school. The university has an open admissions policy for students seeking to pursue developmental studies.

The entrance requirements for the apprenticeship program vary according to the needs of each trade and normally require high school course completion in Math, English and Science.

For 2015/2016, full-time tuition fees are $115 a credit ($345 for a three credit course). Nine credits of coursework are considered the full-time minimum. College Preparation courses and College Preparation ESL courses are $73 a credit ($219 for a three credit course). Full-time vocational programs including Office Administration tuition fees are $1,725 per term. Tuition fees for international students, other than residents of Alaska, are $3,875 per semester for ESL and range from $4,150 to $5,200 for academic and career programs per semester. International students are expected to be full-time.

The Yukon Department of Education administers a number of grant and training allowance programs for territorial residents, accessible on its Web site. Yukon University provides two entrance awards per year to each Yukon graduating class. The awards amount to one year of free tuition.

Apprentices do not pay tuition for Technical Training. Financial assistance during Technical Training is available, where applicable, through the Labour Market Development Agreement, for personal support, travel assistance, book costs, accommodation assistance and daycare costs, to offset loss of income while attending Technical Training. Other scholarship, grant and bursary opportunities exist; please see Yukon University Admissions or Student Services.

Comprehensive review of this information: January 2019